I always find it hard to choose favourite books. Well, favourite anything really. Therefore I’m not picking one favourite book from 2016, but a top 5. And I am cheating a bit here, as my first pick is not one book but a trilogy.

  1. The Century Trilogy by Kenn Follett (Fall of Giants, Winter of the World and Edge of Eternity). These are actually some of the best books I have read and I am sure I will read them again in a few years, maybe next year already. They are really well written and the story is so detailed and interesting. These books are long, but so worth it! I will write a review of just this trilogy later, so stay tuned.
  2. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. Also an amazing book that I’m sure I will read again. It’s about a boy, Wade Watts, who spends his life in a virtual world called OASIS. The creator of OASIS was obsessed with TV, movies, games and music from the 80’s and 90’s and has hidden eggs in OASIS for people to find in order to win the keys to OASIS, as the creator has died. It is such an interesting read, I really recommend it! And I have heard there might be a movie in 2018, so I’m really looking forward to that.
  3. American Gods by Neil Gaiman. This was one that really grips you. Neil Gaiman is such a great author and this book is so great. It revolves around Shadow who has just been released from prison, one day after his wife dies in a car crash. On his way home he meets Mr. Wednesday who is a God, and he becomes Shadows employer. Through Mr. Wednesday, Shadow meets a lot of other Gods and encounter scary things, including his dead wife, who is sort of a zombie – classic strange Neil Gaiman. Really a fantastic book which is being turned into a TV-series that should start here in 2017 (with Ricky Whittle as Shadow, and e is one dreamy man!)
  4. The Last One by Alexandre Olivia. This was recommended to me on Amazon. I thought it sounded interesting so I picked it up. And it was so good! Interesting storyline and concept. It’s an end-of-the-world-by-disease story but with no zombies or anything like that. It’s very subtle. The main character is in a gameshow about survival in nature, and has no idea that the world is changing.
  5. Past the Shallows by Favel Parrett. I was lucky enough to meet Favel as she visited Denmark and did a talk for the literature festival I was working for. I don’t think I would have found the book without meeting her, and I’m very happy that I did. The story is beautiful. This is a sad and gripping story about a boy named Harry who lives on the coast in Tasmania with his father and two older brothers. The mother died and the father is a drunk who also abuses the boys. It is such a well written and beautiful story.

An honourable mention must go to The 5th Wave trilogy. I really enjoyed that, and it’s definitely one of my favourite YA-series. I highly recommend it and I also hope they will make the rest of the trilogy into movies.

