I never considered getting a Kindle. I always saw myself as purely a hard copy book type of person. I just love the smell and feel on a proper book. There is nothing like it to me. I tried reading on my iPad a few times and that was not for me. So I concluded that I wasn’t the e-book type at all! But all of that changed a few months ago while I was living in Germany. Everyone around me seemed to have Kindles – two of my roommates, almost all the internationals at work and several people I saw every morning on the U-bahn. The Kindle was everywhere, so I started to ask my friends and colleagues why they read on Kindles. They all made some valid points about the benefits of a Kindle, but also said that I didn’t really know until I had tried one. So during the Black Friday sale I gave in and bought a Kindle. And now that I have been using it for a few months, I want to give you a few pros and cons about the Kindle compared to a book.

Cons: Unlike the book, the Kindle needs power for you to be able to use it. You also need WiFi and an Amazon account in order to buy books. You don’t need WiFi to read the book, only to download it onto the Kindle. The Kindle can also break, overheat, and someday need replacement. But the “worst” thing about the Kindle is that it doesn’t have that book feeling and smell that I just love. And as much as I like browsing Amazon for books, there is nothing like going to a book store or library to pick up new books.

Pros: On the other hand, the Kindle is very small, light and thin compared to books, that come in all shapes and sizes. There is not awkwardly trying to hold a book and reading while laying down. The Kindle is perfect for that. The Kindle I have also have build in lights so it’s possible to read in the dark. With the Kindle being small and light, it’s very easy to take with you and you will have no problem storing it in your bag or even at home. No need to huge book shelves that take up space because the Kindle can also contain more than one book (at the moment I have 9 on mine). That also comes in handy on holiday where I like to bring 2 or even 3 books with me!

So here you have my pros and cons of the Kindle. I think it’s a great little piece of technology and I have already gotten much use out of it. I thought it would be one of those things I only use on holiday, but I use it all the time at home too. I haven’t looked into potential environmental benefits of the Kindle compared to books, if there are any, but in my opinion having less stuff is always a good thing. That being said, I would certainly never get rid of my books. I love looking at them and they add a homely feeling to my flat (I just need a larger flat, so I can display all my books and not keep them in boxes in the basement…), but I am buying fewer hard copy books.

What do you think? Are you a book or Kindle person? Or maybe both…

