January has now come to an end and it’s time to look at the books I read in January. I managed to read four books in January which I think it quite good, even though two of the books were short ones. The categories I finished from the 2017 reading challenge was a book about books, a children´s book, an autobiography, and a book under 150 pages.

The first book I read was ‘The Keepers of the Library’ by Glen Copper. This is the last book in the Will Piper trilogy which begins with ‘The Library of the Dead’ and continues in ‘The Book of Souls’. This is a really good trilogy and I enjoyed reading it. I think you could read the first one and end it there, but you need the context from the first book to read the second and third. The story is centered around books that has the birth dates and death dates of every person in the world and what people will do to get a hold of them.

The second book I read in this month was ‘Where the Wild Things are’ by Maurice Sendak. Yes, this is a children´s book and there was not a lot of text, but I really enjoyed it and the illustrations are great! The story was short and sweet, a great bedtime story.

Third book was ‘Not That Kind of Girl’ by Lena Dunham. This was an interesting one, and to be honest, I’m not really sure if I liked it or not. I haven’t watched ‘Girls’ or anything that Lena Dunham has done, at least I don’t think I have, so I cannot say that I’m a fan or anything. This book would probably have made more impact if I had seen some of Lena Dunham´s work. But, she does have a lot of important points about life, experiences and thoughts that I think are important to share. She seems like a very intelligent woman with a purpose in life, and she has things to say.

Fourth and last book was ‘Universet’ (The Univers) by Steen Hannestad. Wow, this book.. I feel like it should have been longer in order to tackle such a large topic, and I think I really missed something by it being so short (only 60 pages). Steen Hannestad is a theoretical astrophysics and professor of physics and astronomi at Aarhus University (where I studied.. nothing related to physics or astronomi) and in this book he contemplates the universe, its size and structure, and the history of how we see and have seen the universe. It’s pretty cool stuff but also a bit overwhelming, especially when it’s not something you know that much about. But I learned a lot reading this, and it’s a good, although short, introduction to the field.

