I rarely give five stars to anything really. I feel like I have to save those five stars for something really special and brilliant, and if I just hand out five stars to everything they will loose their meaning. But there are special books out there that deserve those rare five stars, so here are five books I gave five stars to. These are only “free standing” books, not series – they will come in another post, so stay tuned.

  1. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. If you have not read this book yet, do it now. The story is told from two sides. One from Marie-Laure, a blind girl who lives i Paris during WW2. Her father builds a miniture Paris for her, so she can find her way around the city. The other from Werner, a smart German boy with a talent for building and repairing radios. The story is so beautifully written that you can really see the scenes that Anthony Doerr describes.
  2. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. To be honest, I’m usually pretty good at figuring out what is going to happen in books, but the ending of this one I did not see coming! I don’t really know how to review this book without telling everything about it, but basically it’s about a family with a private island where they vacation every summer. They seem pretty perfect from the outside, but it’s all lies.
  3. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. This books is so good, so sad, but so good. I cried so much reading this book. The story follows Amir who is originally from Kabul but moved to America with his father following the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan. The story is in 3 parts: Amirs childhood in Kabul, Amirs life in America and the last when Amir returns to Afghanistan.
  4. Watership Down by Richard Adams. This is one of my favourite books of all time (together with the next one on the list) and I have read it many times, and it is also on my list to read this year as one of the categories is “re-read a beloved book”. The story is set in England and follows a community of rabbits in their flight from the intrusion of man and the destruction of their home. It is such a good story and if you haven’t read this book yet then get started!
  5. The Brothers Lionheart by Astrid Lindgren. This is, as mentioned earlier, one of my favourite books – ever! My mother read this to me as a child and I love it and I have read it many times since then. It is the most beautiful story of all time. The story is about two brothers and the youngest is very sick and afraid of dying. The older brother calms him by telling him about Nangijala where they will go when they die. It’s a very dark and heavy children´s book that covers themes such as disease, death, tyranny, betrayal and rebellion but it is also about love, family, hope and courage.
