Previously I have only written about books I have read, but in today’s blog post I’m taking a different approach. Here I will tell you about ten books I look forward to reading. I have a lot of books on my to-read list on Goodreads, 374 titles to be exact, and I’m constantly adding more to the list, ahh the never-ending list. Hopefully, I will read these books this year, but as I’m doing a reading challenge this year where the books have to fit into different categories, I don’t know if I can plot them all into categories. Some of them I have found places for in the reading challenge, and I will write these in brackets after the book, and I am really trying hard to fit the rest of them into the categories so that I can read them this year. Well, here are the ten books I look forward to reading.

  1. The Circle by Dave Eggers (Category: science fiction novel). This book I’m reading soon, as the movie is coming out in April and I want to read the book before I watch the movie. It is about a young woman how lands a job at her dream company The Circle but everything is not as it seems.
  2. Metro 2035 by Dmitry Glukhovsky. (Category: dystopian novel, maybe) I have been waiting for this to come out in English, as I have already read the previous two books in this series and I enjoyed them. The story centers around underground cities in the Moscow metro system after WW3 and everything on the surface is just dust and empty cities.
  3. The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman (Category: a book that is becoming a movie this year). I could have put The Circle in this category but then I would have nowhere to put this one. This is also one I have to read soon, as the movie is coming out in March (in the US, there is no date for Denmark yet, but it will probably be in May/June). This book is based on a true story about the zookeepers in the Warsaw Zoo who saved hundreds of people from the Nazis.
  4. The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead (Category: historical fiction). The story is about Cora, a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia and the hell of her life. It was in Oprah’s Book Club last year so you know it’s a good one!
  5. Here I Am by  Jonathan Safran Foer (Category: a book about religion). I actually have four books by Foer on my to-read list, but this one I am most excited to read. The story is about a family of two parents and three sons and the lives they think they want and the lives they are living.
  6. Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. I watched the movie a couple of years ago, and the story was so strange, and good, that I have to read the book now. I also think I will understand the story better after reading the book too. The story jumps in time and place and it’s very complex. I think it is one of those books (and movies) you have to read (or watch) to understand, I don’t think I could explain it really.
  7. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro (Category: Man Booker Prize shortlisted book). This has been on my list for a while now, and this year I am determined to read it. I really don’t know much about it, as it seems to be one of those books you cannot explain without giving away some spoilers. So basically it is about some children in a boarding school who are very special, with some kind of gift.
  8. Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel. I spotted this book at a bookstore in Dortmund and thought the cover was so pretty, so I snapped a photo of it with my phone to remember it. When I came home I looked it up on Goodreads and the story sounds very interesting. It is about a girl who discovers a giant metal hand by accident and that sparks her journey to find out what it is and where it came from.
  9. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. I do have a soft spot for historical fiction set during WW2 times. I don’t know why, but I think it might be because it is such a cruel and crucial part of European history and I think we can learn a lot from that time period. This is also a book set in that era. Four teenagers from four different places all affected by the war.
  10. The Drowned World by J. G Ballard. This is also a book that has been on my to-read list for ages, and it seems more relevant than ever. The story is set in the future where solar radiation and global warming have melted the ice caps and nature has pretty much swallowed up all human civilisation.
