Today’s post is, as the title reveals, about my favourite English classics. I studied English at university and at my uni it consisted of British, Irish and Northen American literature, history and language (phonetics, syntax, morphology and language history). So we did read a lot of English literature starting with Shakespeare and ending in modern literature. The English classics I have chosen for this post are more “modern”, meaning not from the super early Shakespeare era, but from the mid 1800s to the mid 1900s. I think I will do a post about my older favourites but I have to have a really good think about them as I don’t think they will be as easy to choose. I do love me some Shakespeare but the post will be a bit boring if I just pick my favourite Shakespeare, although that could be a post on its own. Well, on with the show. Here are my top 5 English classics.

  1. The Great Gatsby by  F. Scott Fitzgerald. You have probably read this book too. It is very popular to read in high school as part of the curriculum, but it you haven’t read it then here is a short summary. The story is about the wealthy Jay Gatsby who is madly in love with Daisy and he throws lavish parties to attract her to his house in hope of meeting her again and being with her. Of course, there is no such thing as a straightforward love story for Fitzgerald and it all ends in tears.
  2. Dracula by Bram Stoker. This is such a classic horror story and the story of Dracula has been told so many times since Bram Stoker, and really, vampires never get old (hahaha) and vampire stories never get old. It is a story of pure evil and Bram Stoker writes it so well. If you haven’t read this then get on it.
  3. Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. This is probably a very obvious one and a book that nearly everyone has read or seen the cartoon or movie. It is such a classic and there is no way around it. Read it now if you haven’t. It is about a girl called Alice (doh) who follows the White Rabbit into a strange and wonderful world where she meets the Mad Hatter, the Queen of Hearts and many other strange characters. It’s a super weird story but it’s wonderful.
  4. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien. Oh.. just read it now. That’s the only thing I have to say here. It’s so good, an epic story, and I love it. I have the illustrated version and it’s so pretty and really made the story even better for me. If you have seen the movies, which you probably have, you should read the book also as it is a little different from the movies. Better, in my opinion.
  5. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. I like a lot of the Brontë sisters stories and also Jane Austen, but this one is my favourite I think, mainly because of the main character Jane. She is an orphan who grows up in a very cruel world, but she remains strong-willed and confident. She is independent and has dream and plans for her future – a real heroine in search of something more to life.

 

