Wow, May came and went so fast. Half of the year is almost done, can you believe it!? Well, time flying is not what we are here to talk about today. It’s May books time, so here is a recap of the books I read in May. Thanks to my week of laying in the sun on holiday in Turkey, I did reach my goal of reading 3 books in May, so yay go me!

  1. Watership Down by Richard Adams. The category I read this under in the 2017 Reading Challange was (maybe obviously) “re-read a beloved book”. I have read this book many times. It’s a classic, and it’s a classic for a reason. It’s so good! The title, Watership Down, doesn’t really tell you anything about the book, and if you haven’t read it yet, it’s about rabbits. Yes, Rabbits just living their rabbit lives, fighting for survival and a better future. It’s such a great story, really gripping and well-written.
  2. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. The category I read this under in the 2017 Reading Challange was a Man Booker Prize shortlisted book. This was a new one for my, but it has been on my list for years! Finally, I got around to it because I want to watch the TV-series based on this book. I always like the read the book before the movie/series as it gives me a good groundwork and understanding of the movie/series if they skip some bits from the book (as they usually do). I was planning on reading this on holiday, but I finished it so fast because it is so good! I cannot wait to see how they have adapted this into a TV-series! The story is told from the handmaid Offred and it set in a dystopian future where women have no rights over their lives or bodies.
  3. The Circle by Dave Eggers. The category I read this under in the 2017 Reading Challange was a science fiction novel. This was also a book I needed to read before watching the movie and I cannot wait to see it! This is actually also a dystopian novel, but in a whole different ballgame than The Handmaid’s Tale. Here it’s about a what can happen when we let technology take over our lives and how companies can control us and our lives via technology. It’s actually super scary and I hope it never happens!
