Seeing as I am 7 books behind schedule, I thought I would do a “7 books for summer” reading list to get organised with my summer reading (and I also really like lists). As I don’t really have any plans this summer, other than a trip to Dublin, I will have plenty of time for reading!

  1. Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn. Category: Murder mystery. I like the writing style that Gillian Flynn has. I have already read Gone Girl and Dark Places so I’m looking forward to reading this one too. Sharp Objects is about a female reporter who returns to her hometown after two young girls have been murdered.
  2. Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer. Category: A book from the Rory Gilmore reading list. This in one of those books that have been on my to-read list for forever but I just haven’t read it yet. But I think it’s time now. It is about a man looking for the woman who saved his grandad from the Nazis.
  3. Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. Category: A book about a culture you’re unfamiliar with. Another book that has been sitting on my shelf for ages collecting dust. Purple Hibiscus is about a girl living in a very religious home but under a military coup in Nigeria, her father sends her and her brother to live with their aunt. Here they discover a world of laughter and a free life.
  4. The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead. Category: A book of historical fiction. There has been so much talk about this book and it’s even on Oprah’s book clubs reading list, so you know it’s good! It’s about Cora who is a slave on a cotton plantation and her plans and journey of escape from slavery.
  5. Everything We Keep by Kerry Lonsdale. Category: Chick-lit. Definitely not a genre I read a lot of! I’m not really into chick-lit, but it’s on the list so I have to. The story is about Aimee who is about to get married when her fiancé goes missing. I think this was the most un-chick-lit chick-lit I could find – a mystery chick-lit really.
  6. I love Dick by Chris Kraus. Category: A book you’re embarrassed to read in public. It was either this or 50 Shades and I absolutely refuse to read ANY of the 50 shades books or watch the movies. So I love Dick it is. It is about a woman who falls in love with a well-known art and culture theorist named Dick and endeavours to seduce him with the help of her husband. Apparently, it’s a new kind of feminist, so let’s see.
  7. Emma by Jane Austen. Category: A books with a person’s name in the title. Probably a bit obvious but I do love Jane Austen, so let it be obvious. Emma is about Emma perfectly content with her life and sees no need for either love or marriage, but she loves to play matchmaker! It doesn’t always end well…

So, that’s the list. I’m almost finished with Sharp Objects already (I’m liking it!) and there will be a review of it on the blog soon. I just have to write one for The Zookeeper’s Wife first (spoiler, I didn’t like it!).

